The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to passage, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant. Additionally, experts attributed that fatigue and inadequate sleep would cause that kind of on-the-job accidents. Quiot Manufacturing company is compared to Panoply Industries plant company with regards to that Panoply Industries company’s work shifts are one hour shorter than Quiot Manufacturing company. Experts suggest that if Quiot Manufacturing would shorten their three work shifts by one hour so that workers will get adequate amount of sleep and productivity would be increased. However, there are some points which absolutely must be enlighten.

First of all, Quoit company is working based on manufacturing whereas Panoply company is running based on industry. It means that Quoit’s work-load is more dangerous than Panoply’s work-load. Workers who are working for Quoit need to be more careful and vigorous. It would cost a lot, even a minor lack of attention. On the other hand, Panoply is making production on plants so, the possibility of having in-the-job accidents is lower than Quiot. Therefore, it is not fully correct comparison between them. Their working areas are totally apart.

Secondly, do we know any information about the number of workers in the two companies and number of workers who have in-the-job accidents. For example, if there is a high number of workers in Quiot Manufacturing compared to Panoply and the ratio of workers who have an accident would be lower than Panoply. The second point around it is that do we know any information about the work place, if the work area is intense, the accidents inevitable would happen. Those points must be explained.

Thirdly, how do we know the suggestion which has served as a solution for in-the-job accidents will work? Experts say that it would be solution but evidences are not adequate. It must be proven with the statistical data.

Fourthly, there might be different variety of health problem in workers who had accidents. It might trigger the accidents. Sleeplessness and fatigue would not be the only problem which cause the accidents.

As a conclusion, the solution cannot be said directly the comparison with the Panoply. The parameters are conditions are not same. It is not correct evaluation. Need to study further.