The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company."When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited

The author claims that XYZ company's lay off employees must be referred to Delany personnel firm as they would help in creating resumes and developing interview skills. The claim is bolstered by a few pieces of evidence which look convincing at a first glance. However, a crucial analysis is required to purport the argument as true.

First of all, the author claims that the employees have found jobs quickly when they selected Delany firm last year. What if majority of the people decided to go for higher studies? or moved to different place or country . The author is required to provide sufficient data statistics that states total amount of people who applied for jobs.

Secondly, the author claims that eight years ago when XYZ chose Walsh, only half of the employees found job within a year. There might be possibility that there could be only few companies which were hiring eight years back and now more companies could have got established during these eight years. The author must provide stronger evidences in order to proove this claim.

Finally, the author states that Delany is superior as it has bigger staff and more number of branch offices. Also, Delany's client took average of six months than compared to Walsh's client who took nine months. It might be possible that more staff members would be working as a part time employees and would not be productive in their work and Walsh firm with few employees would be hard working. Further, Delany firm would be present in areas where more companies are present and the job offerings would be high. Accordingly, Walsh firm could be present in the areas with less companies offering less number of jobs. The author must provide strong evidences regardng various dependent factors such as availability of companies, number of jobs offered and more.

In summary, the author must provide the above stated evidences to aver the argument as credible.