The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that in order to increase the number of listener, the radio company should change from its current rock-music to news and talk format. The present two pieces of evidence to support the argument. First, a major portion of the growing population in the area consists of old retired people. Secondly, sales of recorded music is declining. At first the argument seems reasonable but a careful analysis reveals that the argument is based on several assumptions which if don't hold true would seriously undermine the argument.

First of all, it is assumed that growth in population should commensurate increase in number of listeners. Since, the population is growing in the area and still the number of listener are diminishing, the author feels that people don't like WWAC radio music. There can be myriad number of reasons which can explain this decline. Perhaps, some other music radio station is more popular or people perfer to listen to music on their mobiles phone or laptop. We need to rule out all these possibilities otherwise the validity of the argument is suspect.

Coming to the second piece of evidence that there has been decline in local sales of recorded music listener which indicates limited interest in music. There are serval flaws in this piece of evidence. First, recorded music and radio music are two different platform and consequently, it's not reasonable to draw conclusion about a the interest of people in radion music based only the interest of people in recorded music. Perhaps, people prefer radio over recorded music. Recorded music might be costly and people are not able to afford it. This could be one reason behind the decline in sales of recorded music. But this had nothing to do with people's interest in music. We need to know exact cause behind the decline in sales of recorded music. Is it really that people are not inclined towards listening music? For this, we can do a study of affordability of recorded music and people's preferences about music platforms.

Finally, switching to news and talk format might reduce the number of listener in contrast to what the manager hopes for. It is mentioned that news and talk format is becoming increasingly popular in the area but this might be due to some already established radion stations. If WWAC switch to news and talk format it might have to compete with the popular radio stations. In that case, it's possible that the number of listener further reduce because they would lose their current music listener plus due to heavy competition they might not be able to attract new listener.

In sum, the argument as of now stands weakly on serveral assumptions which renders the argument un-reasonable. More information is needed regarding the exact cause of decline in the sales of recorded music. We need to find out if there is any correlation between the decline in sales of recorded music and the interest of people in music. Finally, we explore if there other possible alternatives by which WWAC can increase it's popularity for example, by switching to a differnt format of music which is tailored to the taste of majority of the people.