The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum from the manager of WWAC station states that the radio should adopt a news and talk format because of the decline in the number of listeners to its current rock music format. Also the population growth which has mainly people moving after their retirement conjectures that another kind of music will also not be able to increase audience. Stated in this way the argument fails to answer several key factors, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. Therefore, the argument is rather weak and has several alternate questions which has been ignored conveniently.

First question that needs to be addressed is whether the decline in listening population of the WWAC radio station is solely due to its current rock music format. The argument has very easily accepted the outcome of the declining listeners to a particular music format. But, the decline could also be due to competition from a similar radio station implementing the same genre of music but with less advertisement and less breaks. People tend to avoid radio station which has excess of audio advertisement which is irksome for the listener. Therefore, the manager should peruse its radio station and the rival radio station before implementing a change in its discourse.

Secondly there is no evidence that the resulting growing population which according to the argument comprises mainly of retired people is actually listening to the radio station. There is no empirical data provided is to what faction of the listeners are retired people who have just moved into the WWAC radio circle. As a result manager should analyse the data of its radio station and this wold also help him to find a pattern between what kind of people occluded the radio station .

Thirdly, the argument has readily assumed the closing of several local stores selling recorded music to limited interest in music. The closure of the local stores can be a consequence of the rise development in technology. The new age of internet allows music available at single click and wide variety which can be downloaded even at free of cost at any time of the day. This makes the business of recorded music obsolete and difficult to manage. In conclusion the argument fails to answer the reason for closure and has stereotypically assumed the decline in interest in music due to closure of these stores.

On the whole the argument is flawed and fails to answer the aforementioned questions. Also in a step adopt the news and talk format the manager has readily assumed that this format will increase the popularity of the radio station. Again the question arises whether the survey from the listeners has been done to incorporate this style of format. In summary the argument is flawed with various defective perceptions, which is paramount for the recommendation to increase the audience of the WWAC radio station.