Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim states that creating an appealing image in the contemporary society has become more important than reality or truth behind that image. According to Japanese theory a person has three faces-one which everybody sees it as a whole, the second face which is only visible to his close friends, family and relatives and the third face which nobody can see except the person himself. In effect to this theory the third face is the actual truth or reality behind his image and first face is the appealing image which the claim states to be. However, to be fair only a fraction of this third face is visible in the appealing image of that person.

Considering the example of the film industry where actors and actresses has to maintain a certain code of image in the public sphere. One of the main reason is that there actions and comments can have a tremendous effect on public community as a whole. Even though they appear to be content and present a smiling face to the world, the statistics and evidence show that they go through several psychological problems in reality. Problems of drug abuse, alcohol addiction and depression have been present in the industry from the primitive ages of this glamour world. Therefore the truth is pretty much overshadowed with what they face and what they appear to be.

In contrast to this a teacher or a guru is always a person who is ascetic and pure providing the best route to his pupils in gain of their overall development. He or she is a person who learning from his mistakes correct his protégé not to repeat his errors, completely eradicating the sham people generally appear to be. One cannot deny that even in this field, we have teachers who are immoral and reactionary to the principles of shikhas’.

But to summarize as a whole we have also a percentage of people from film industry who present completely true image and are fastidious to their profession. We have all kinds of people in every aspect and a lot is changed from the judgement and perception from the third party. Ultimately a very small faction of people are appealing the true reality behind their inner image in contrast to those who imposter their first face as their third.