The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the vice president of a largely diversified company contemplates to give the new building project to Alpha Construction company rather than Zeta, as the latter has charged 30 percent more for the construction of the similar building with same floor plan. Also the expenses related to maintenance and energy consumption were higher in Zeta building as compared to Alpha building. Though the argument seems logical at first glance but, the argument stated in this way has several key factors which has been assumed to reach an obscure conclusion. Therefore the argument is rather weak and has various assumption which has been accepted conveniently.

First, the vice president has very easily assumed that the buildings constructed in two different regions have exactly the same set of conditions and circumstances to go through. The two different regions could have completely different requirements to manage as the regions could be in different states of the country. Now for example in a country like India the states in south contrast to the states in Northern India have different rates per unit of electricity consumed. They have also varied minimum wages for labour, which are the foundations of construction industry. Thence this comparison becomes unreliable and un warranted if these set of conditions are not perused.

Secondly, the argument has assumed the two buildings to be similar on the basis of its floor plan. Yes its true the floor plan maybe same for the two buildings constructed but beside the floor plan there are diverse categories and varieties in which the two buildings could be different. One of which could be whether both the headquarters are fitted with facility of lift. In exactly the same category is this facility provided a redundancy in both the constructions or not. On the whole it is very difficult to predict if the two buildings are exactly similar.

Thirdly, the cost of zeta building is 30 percent more than alpha building. This assumption is proportional to various factors related to constructional material used in the building. Their could be two cases-either the zeta building has used a superior quality of products for the same purpose or the cost of the raw materials is higher in the region where zeta construction company is based. Therefore it is necessary to determine this vague claim before taking the further actions.

And finally the maintenance and energy consumption of the zeta building is high. In effect to this the assumption depends on what kind of facilities is provided in the two buildings. Zeta building maybe fitted with individual ac units as compared to centralized air conditioning in the alpha building which has a lower consumption of power. Also the maintenance cost for maintaining the centralized air conditioning systems is much higher than the individual ac units. On the contrary this maybe in favour of alpha construction company which has devised prescient plans keeping in mind of the future fiscal concerns.

Therefore, for the aforementioned assumptions which the vice president in his memo has accepted should carefully examine the empirical data of both the construction companies and furthermore compare the two different regions to illustrate and manifest a clear vision as to which company in most suitable for this purpose. Moreover these the argument claims on the data which is ten years old. As a result the effects which are connected to inflation in this ten years must also be taken into account before reacing the final conclusion to this project.