‘The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.’

The following memorandum from Movies Galore’s owner suggests that in order to ameliorate the decline in profits, changes implemented in the downtown location should be done in the other nine locations. However, the owner’s argument is based on assumptions that are rife with flaws. Therefore, to strengthen the validity of his argument, a thorough consideration is needed, with more evidence provided.

The owner noted that by eliminating all movies that were released more than five years ago, it would help reverse declines for Movies Galore. However, the owner does not provide evidence that this helped in raising profit. As well, perhaps the population visiting or living in downtown is made up of a majority in a younger age group, who enjoy newly released movies. This does not provide enough reason for the owner to implement the change across all other locations—what if customers frequenting another location enjoy old-school movies and do not care for recently released ones? Thus, the owner should provide evidence that limiting the store’s movie selection to new movies benefited the store in reversing its decline of profits, as well as that people across all ten locations enjoy these movies more than the ones released more than five years ago.

Taking a look at the bigger picture, in the memorandum, the owner states that there has been a recent decline in Movies Galore’s profits. He/she does not further indicate a reason or a hypothesis as to why this may be. Perhaps there should be an examination of why there’s been a sudden decline in the profits. Is it because of the choice of movies available that no one likes? Or the movies have not been updated, and with a limited selection, no one wants to go to Movies Galore anymore? It does not seem that the owner takes this into consideration. A better look into the problem, maybe with a survey for customers to analyze their responses, would help make the situation clearer.

Another assumption the owner makes is making the closing time three hours earlier than before. In downtown, many people are there during the day, either working, visiting or travelling. Therefore, it is possible that an earlier closing time would not pose a problem, as many people may still visit the store during the daytime. On the contrary, that is not guaranteed for stores in the other nine locations. For some stores that are located in a more suburban area, where people go home in the evening after work, it would be impossible for them to go to Movies Galore to rent movies. Thus, the owner should consider the different populations in the areas his/her stores are situated in, to better assess the preferences of the customers.