People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In our busy, every day life, decisions are brought forward for us to make. One must make many decisions a day, whether big or small. However, the kind of decision one makes differ from situation. Therefore, some decisions may benefit from an emotional point of view, while other decisions may benefit from logical reasoning. Decisions require both emotional and logical origins of thinking, thus making both of these aspects significant.

There are times when our emotions stand in the way of making logical decisions. Take, for example, the stories we hear about someone saving another who had fallen into the subway train track. With just a few seconds to spare, what kind of thinking brought the hero to jump hastily into the tracks and pull the other person back up? Here we can see that there must have been some emotions influencing the hero's decision. When one sees another at the brink of death, many emotions may flood into our minds, such as feeling guilty, terrified, and upset. If that person had been to think logically, they may have thought that though someone had fallen into the train tracks, it would be a dangerous move to jump in themselves just to save another person, with a slight chance that both would survive. If that was so, the person who had fallen would not have been saved. But because of emotions that intercepted into the process of decision-making, we see that such uncanny stories are indeed possible; within a few seconds, someone had decided to drop all their belongings, jump off the platform, pull the fallen person up, and get out of the tracks right before the train came rushing in to the station.

On the contrary, often we are faced with situations where we let our emotions get to the best of us, but in the end, must make logical decisions for a favourable outcome. An example is when Jenny, a high school student sees her friend, Amy, being bullied, her first reaction is to rush in and punch the bullies for hurting her friend. This, however, would be a rash, emotional decision that would result badly. Therefore, Jenny paused and after taking a deep breath, remembered that the first thing she should do is to run and get a teacher. The situation ended well, with the teacher being able to stop the bullies from hurting Amy, and giving all the bullies detention as well as having their parents contacted. Jenny ended up not getting in trouble for physically fighting with anyone, and the bullies got the punishment they deserved. In these moments, being able to pause and think thoroughly and make logical decisions may help prevent any negative consequences later on.

Last of all, there are certainly situations in which we make the wrong decisions because we cannot think rationally. When a person's dog is gravely ill, the vet suggested that it should be put to sleep, as continuous medical treatments didn't seem effective, and the dog would only be suffering more. The owner, however, was heartbroken and couldn't seem to let her dog go. She was sure that the dog would be able to recover after more treatment, and insisted on doing so. Only a few days later, after being put through more stress and pain, the dog passed away. There are times when we are so emotionally attached to something that we cannot seem to look past the obvious, the things right in front of us, to think in a better perspective. It seemed obvious that vet's suggestion may have been the best for the dog, but the owner could not make a decision in a logical sense, as she could not bear to lose her dog.

In conclusion, to say whether one type of decision-making is better than the other is a very difficult question. With so many different kinds of decisions we must make in our lives, it is best if we assess the situation we are in, before choosing how to proceed from there. Both our emotions and logic play a significant role in the choices we make every single day. Therefore, not one but both should be acknowledged in how we make decisions.