Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following memo from Super Screen Movie's advertising director states that although there has been a decrease in people watching Super Screen-produced movies, a higher percentage of positive reviews have been made in the past year. Thus, the director argues that a greater budget should be put into advertising the movies to the public to heighten awareness. This argument is based on several assumptions, which are rife with flaws. The director must therefore reconsider his points in the memo, providing evidence to support and strengthen the validity of the argument.

The director notes that there has been an increased number of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies. However, the director does not further explain what the percentage of increase is -- is it a significant enough of an increase to be provided as a point in argument? Perhaps the director only chose to focus on the increase in positive reviews, but he does not mention whether or not there has been an increase or decrease in negative movie reviews. If the director could provide evidence, for example, the significance of increase in the positive reviews compared to previous years, and a diminished amount of negative reviews, then his argument would become stronger. The director should also mention the reasons why those who left positive reviews enjoyed the specific movies as well. Were those specific movies, amongst all others produced by Super Screen, superior in quality? If so, there could be a problem in the quality of most of Super Screen's movies except the ones given positive reviews.

Following from the point above, although there are indeed more positive reviews, it does not simply correlate to the fact that the public would agree with these reviews. For example, those who chose to give a good rating on Super Screen movies may be fans of these specific movies and genuinely enjoy them, therefore giving a biased opinion in their reviews. As such, it is invalid for the director to simply assume that because of the positive reviews, the public would share the same taste as the movie reviewers and agree with their opinions. Perhaps a survey could be done, on instance, asking for regular movie-goers opinions on Super Screen movies and whether they were interested in watching them or not.

Lastly, the director concludes in the end that the problem is not in the quality of Super Screen movies but that the public is simply unaware of the high quality movies available. Here, we see again that there is illogical reasoning in his point made. In no way does the director go further and explain, for example, why there is no problem with Super Screen's movies, and that the public lacks the awareness that they exist. His point would be strengthened if he provided support in that a survey was done randomly amongst the public, and the majority of people reported not knowing of Super Screen movies' existence. If that was the case, the director could more confidently say that due to the unawareness of the public, there were less people attending the movies, and further advertising must be done to garner people's attention.

To strengthen the director's argument that more advertising is needed for Super Screen movies to reach the attention of the public, the director must first address all points of his argument. By resolving the flawed assumptions he makes, the director's argument would become much stronger and valid in supporting his desire to increase advertisements for Super Screen.