"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our ever-changing society, people have a sense of urgency in wanting to achieve success as quick as possible. Parents of toddlers rush to prestigious preschools in order for their child to enroll in a 'high-achieving' academic environment, getting a head start amongst other children in the competitive world. However, although competition may encourage us to perform well, we see often that competition does harm to our intrinsic motivation, hindering our true abilities to shine. Thus, a sense of cooperation amongst our peers should be encouraged from early on.

When one feels competitive, they may base their performances against others. If they perform better than their peers, they will feel a heightened sense of self-confidence. On the flip side, once one fails to do as well as they wished to, or falls behind their peers, they immediately attribute this to their own flaws. For example, a high-school student Jenny was raised in a family that valued competitiveness, and was praised throughout her life for being a straight-A student and talented artist. When Jenny takes on a role to be the leader of her school art project, she urges her teammates to do well so they could beat all the other groups. However, being competitive, Jenny ignores most of her teammate’s ideas and comes up with her own, wanting to let people know that her ideas were the best. As a result, Jenny's project, in comparison with the others in her class, lacked diversity and creativity. Although she had stellar artistic skills, the dearth of cooperation she had with her team didn't help her project stand out. In this instance, we see that cooperation is very beneficial, as everyone's ideas could be contributed into something creative and interesting. Jenny, being competitive and having a fear of losing, rejected potential ideas that could have helped her project shine even more.

In our society today, a sense of cooperation is valuable and necessary in order for success. In many fields, we see that good social and cooperation skills are needed in order for one to do well. For instance, a CEO of a company, the leader of hundreds of people, conduct weekly meetings with the managers from each department. During the meetings, he asks the managers what they think could be improved in their respective departments, and values their opinions in order to improve the efficiency of the company's operation. The CEO cooperates with his employees so that the satisfaction level of his workers are met, creating a friendly atmosphere in the company. As a result, work efficiency levels increase, strengthening the company's overall progress.

Cooperation is a highly valuable skill that should be instilled into the education of young people today. While this is indeed true, there are other times when a sense of competition may help in motivating people to put in their all, and strive for the best. An example would be an athlete training for the Olympics. The athlete, a 100-meter runner, is aware of the performances and rankings of his opponents in the coming competition. To be able for him to train assiduously, he focuses on the best times his opponents achieved in the 100-meter run, and aims to do better. Here, we see that the runner, with a sense of competitiveness, uses that to motivate his drive in becoming a better runner. In some contexts, competition may help one to improve on themselves and to aid them in training so that they could reach the next level. If there was solely cooperation instilled amongst the athletes, perhaps they would be less motivated in training hard and sharpening their skills, as one would feel it less important to do so.

It is indeed true that without competition, many people would lack the motivation in achieving the things they want, as they would feel it unnecessary to work hard in trying their best. However, we see that in many examples that competition, when used in the wrong way, may be detrimental to a person's growth in ability and opportunity to learn from others. Therefore, from a young age, people should be taught how to cooperate with their peers. In valuing other people's strengths and differences in thinking, our society can work to become a more diverse and respectful place for everyone's ideas.