The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores claims that reducing the operating expenses of their stores would help in reversing their recent decline in profits. This claim seems arguable on grounds of lack of evidence and proof. There are several questions that need to be answered in order to ensure that the change would actually bring the needed profits and not make the situation worse.

The owner seems to have taken some measures to come up with possible changes that they could make to come out of the stump in which they are stuck. They closed their store in downtown Marston at 6 pm rather than at 9 pm. Further, they also cut off their stock of movies released more than five years ago. However, the owner doesn't mention if that by taking this measure of the store showed any profits. The question that needs to be asked here boils down to whether the changes made at one of their stores showed the desired results. If the store did show some significant improvement without compromising the comfort of the customers then this could probably be a viable option. However, if because the store becomes unavailable to access for a lot of people - working crowd for example - because of the time constraint then this method could backfire.

The owner needs to answer the question of what the reasons are for the decline in profits. Could it be that the reason isn't the hefty operating expenses? Has the quality of the store and its products reduced? As the owner mentions that the store has movies released over 5 years ago there might be chances that the employees of the store aren't making the effort of restocking the shelves with the newest and most wanted movies. A small survey could be the answer to this. If the store collects enough information about what the public wants they could focus on improving the quality.

New stores are established everywhere every day. There could be a new movie rental store that started just next to the Movies Galore. This new rental store might even be providing food or other commodities along with doing the rental business. This makes the news store more appealing and convenient for a lot of people. The owner must confess if a new competition has surfaced around the block which could bring a lot of things into perspective.

The store owner must look into the environment in which the store in Marston operates. For example, if the neighborhood of Marston rife with senior citizens then it it would be a practical decision to close the store at 6 pm rather than 9 pm as most people of this age go to bed quite early or don't leave their house at late hours. However, if the other nine stores are situated at a location that is prime to the younger crowd or even the working crowd then closing the stores at 6 pm would affect the store adversely. The younger crowd is busy during the day with work or college and evenings are the only time they could even visit a store. Keeping the store open till 9 pm at least would let them pay a visit after their commitments for the day.