The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company. "Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the menorandum from the planning department of an electric company, it is stated that need of new genrating plant in their area is not necessary since demand of power in that area will not increase and need of power may decline slightly. author come to this conclsuion based on the results of some surveys that state home owners are now egar to conserve energy and avialiblity of energy efficient home appliances in market. Final conclusion of author is based on the series of stated and unstated assumptuion which need to be examin properly with the help of evidences. Following are the three assumption considered in the argument which need to examin.

First assumption that author made is result of the survey in full correct and all the residence of that area is covered in the survey. No evidence provided that survey is fully authentic and we can relie on the results of survey. it may be possible that people who are conducting that survey will not be fully aware about the topic of survey and may be question asked in the survey in not relvent to the enegy conservation. also, no evidence presented that all the residence of that area is covered. it is possible that only some people of some part of area is covered and based on that author is reaching on conclusion for complete area. if eaither of scenario is true then it will easily weakened the conclusion of author.

also, author conclusion depends on the current market scenario of home appliance manufactures. authors assumed that if home appliance manufactures are making energy efficent home appilance like rgefrigerators and air conditioners then people are also buying same and insatalling in their respective home. it may be a case that new enery efficient appliances are very expensive due to which only few home owner can afford them. if this case has a potential then argument will not hold water.

Last but not the least, author also considered that energy need for home heating will reduce due to radily avialable passive solar heating and new technologies for better home insulation. Again no evidence are given that people are using new technologies for better home insulation and they are using solar energy.

may be new technologie for home insulation not develpoed fully to make it use. also, home of people is not suitable for passive solar heating. if any of above point is true then any one can easily raise question on authors conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to it reliance on the unwarrrented assumption. if author can provied more evidence (perhaps in the form of systematic reaserach form)for authenticity of survey, actual consumption of new enery efficent home appliance and use of new technologies & solare energy for home heating then only it possible to fully evaluate viability of authors conclusion of requirment of new generating plant in their area.