Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Success is dependent on many things such as hard work, patience, consistence practice, etc. It is also dependent upon inception of idea and its implementation. The claim stated here that those in power be it any field-business, education, politics, government-should retire directly after 5 years irrespective of your performance in that position. The reason to support that claim is given as that the path to success is dependent upon new leadership that brings in new ideas. I personally so not support the claim and its reason and my disagreement is based on 3 reasons.

A period of 5 years is given in any field so that a person may get sufficient time to get adjusted with the position and also to get himself or herself going in the respective field of work. Governments elections are held every 5 years. So people get the chance to see the government’s work and vote accordingly. In India general elections are held every 5 years and Prime Minister is elected each 5 years. All the decisions of the government are in the name of the Prime Minister. Lets assume for 5 years he has done fantastic work-no previous government could ever do. Now work is always visible if the policies that are governing this are perfectly implemented. And these policies take time to show results. Some policies even take 3 to 4 years to show its results. If after 5 years the Prime Minister Changes then the policies initiated remain as it is as the new government may change the policy as it has new outlook to things. This only hampers the overall growth of any organization. Thus if the person at helm if any organization is doing good then he or she should be given an extension to show their mettle.

Another view is that success is dependent on consistent hard work. Success is not guaranteed overnight, it requires patience. Jack Ma, CEO of Alibaba Group said in an interview that he had run the company at zero profit for 10 years. 10 years is a lot of time to invest in a company which is giving no profit. But he also said that every year I used to try something new so that the company makes gain. And today we see that Alibaba is one of the most desirable companies in the world. This is success! Had he resigned after 5 years, would Alibaba be what it is today? The answer is a clear no. Jack Ma give time and he coupled it with consistent hardwork. The result is epitome for any budding child to look upon. Thus time should not be a constraint if success is the final result. Also to not a point in this example is that newer ideas do help but that should not be hampered with time.

Path to success has many routes. There is no clear route that will guarantee success. 5 years to any organization is sufficient to show the desired outcome but that should not be the only criteria to dislodge someone who is trying hard to get success to the organization. Thus fresh ideas are necessary for institutions to progress but time should be given to such ideas to mature.