Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Woven baskets or in general baskets are used to carry things required in homes. Each one have their unique way a weaving clothes and so the same can be applied to baskets. The statements made here are not so convincing are based on several assumptions and considerations that cannot be compare recent and ancient activities.

The very first assumption that is made here is that just because a single basket was found in Lithos the baskets are not unique to Paleans. This is absolutely faulty assumption. That basket found in lithos could have been brought over from Palea during ancient time by someone maybe relatives or for trade purpose. Therefore if there is clear evidence available that more such baskets also found in the immediate vicinity of Lithos then this supports the argument.

Another assumption that is made here is that two villages are separated by a deep and broad river. The Brim river that the archeologist are mentioning is from the recent time so there can be possibility that during prehistoric period no such river existed. The river would have formed by certain environmental changes over a period of time. Hence the distance between Palea and Lithos could be covered on foot rather than by boat. Thus if archeologist can provide clear details about really a river flowed then there is possibility that the Palean baskets may not be unique.

One more flawed consideration is as, as the river is deep and broad and could only be crossed by boat. So as there were no boats found, no one from palea crossed over to Lithos and same vice-versa. This is completely flawed assumption. This also given extra weight to the previous point that no river existed during prehistoric period. Thus people would have travelled on foot from one village to another for trade, religious activities and some other functions. And Paleans could have left one piece of basket in Lithos which was found by archealogist.

The above considerations and its related analysis indicate that the woven baskets with a distinctive pattern can be unique to Paleans. If the recommendations or clarity about the points discussed above are provided then the given argument stays valid