Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes reference to two conclusions made by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp about village culture in Tertia. The argument stated here that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Terian culture does not hold true as children spoke more about their biological parents rather than other elders in the village is not very convincing. In my opinions the argument is based on faulty assumptions as following.

Firstly, can the visits made twenty years ago be still valid? What Dr. Field observed about Terian culture twenty years ago may not be true with Dr. Karp’s observations. Also the method which was used by Dr. Field during his time may not still be viable or successful option twenty years down the line when Dr. Karp visited the village to make his conclusions. Thus as both the visits to the village were made during different timelines Dr. Field’s conclusions cannot be termed invalid.

Another questions which pops up is can an observation centric approach made on group of children by Dr. Field be compared to Dr. Karp’s interview centric approach on a comparatively larger group of people from different villages? Dr. Field observations were purely based on children of Tertia. Whereas Dr. Karp made his conclusions based on a number op people from Different villages including Tertia. Thus as the results which were valid for many villages they cannot be justified for a single village of Tertia as given in Dr. Karp’s conclusion.

In conclusion if the above stated questions are justified then only the final conclusion to use interview centric approach instead of observation centric approach for deriving results for culture holds true.