Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The issue to be addressed here is that the perfect way to judge a society is to analyize the character of men and women that community idolise as their heroes or role models. The reason that supports this claim suggest that people of such high respect reveal the society's highest ideals. We can arrive at a conclusion through a few examples.

heroes are people who have done something great or extraordinary for their colleagues or a community as a whole. they did so not for their own benefit but for the the upliftment of the society. Children are always asked to have a role model so that the child can follow them and streamline their career. Sir Abraham lincoln is considered a hero because he worked for citizens's right by not following any unjust practises. Hence people of united states hail him a hero and outside the states The united states is judged based on such ideals followed by lincoln.

Another view at the given claim can be if these people presented as heroes do not follow the said ideals then this gives a very bad impression about the background it represents. For example pope is regarded as the voice of god on earth so any practise that he follows is termed as way of god. Now if pope indulges in spome bad thing like corruption or money laundering then this gives citizen of diffrentnon-christian countries a false message about the religion epitomised by pope.

Thus all in all hereos are made by people and it is their responsility to follow practises that are commensurate with the society they represent.