A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Pre-college is where students are taught variety of subjects ranging from Science and technology to History and Geography. There is a clear thought process involved as to why different states of a country have different curriculum and why a national curriculum is not imposed. I do not agree with the suggestion that all budding citizens should study the same national curriculum until college. My opinion is based on following three reasons.

Same National curriculum means irrespective of the state, culture and language all the students in school must study the same set of subjects with the same content. The above statement may not be seem viable in a country with diverse culture, each state or region having it’s own specific history. For instance, India is having 28 different states and each state is having a different historical characters of prominence. Students of Maharashtra study Shivaji in their History while in Rajasthan they study Rana Pratap Singh. Thus under common subject as history to be studied under national curriculum students of Maharashtra may not be able to relate to Rana Pratap and vice-versa. Thus for better understanding of students to know their part of history better national curriculum is not a suitable recommendation.

Another view to the given suggestion is that same national curriculum would have same content to be taught and hence each and every teacher should teach the same thing. So that in college every student is at par with every other student. The recommendation assumes that every child is born normal with no disabilities. Normal students will be taught “Apples are red”. But the colour may be irrelevant to a student who has eyesight disability. Hence the content for such students or the method in which they must be taught will be different from abled students.

I do not strongly disagree to the opinion stated in the given statement also. Certain subjects which are of common interest to the entire nation can be common for every student in school. For example, Indian Freedom struggle is a topic relevant to every Indian and should be known to the students. Similarly Civics as a subject which talks about the constitutional working of the nation compulsorily be common to the entire nation.

Thus it is not always a suitable solution for the entire nation to have common curriculum. Atleast not in an country with varied history, culture and heritage. That said issues of common interest must be addressed and the budding minds ought to study those issues so that in college they are at par with nations issues.