To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The Characteristics of a society depends on many qualities such as people living there, its culture, its lifestyles, etc. So the statement here that to analyze the most important attributes of a society, one must go through its cities in not very convincing. My disagreement is based on 3 reasons.

Firstly, cities are a home to a large number of people who come to cities from different regions. These regions include villages of the same country, people from different cities and also from different countries. The society would have a common language. There can be different dialects but all are under one single umbrella of a common language. As cities constitute of different people it is obvious that they all have different languages. For instance, Mumbai is a mega city in the state of Maharashtra in India. Being the financial capital of the country, people from different parts of the country come to this place in search of jobs. All these people coming from different regions speak different languages. Therefore, if one has to analyze the language characteristics on basis of Mumbai alone the results will be ambiguous. Hence to judge the society’s attribute on basis of just its city will not give us a clear picture of the society as a whole.

Another characteristic is that societies share a common purpose, their needs are common and all work coherently for the development of the society. When we say cities home people who are not natives then their needs also change. For example, people come to New York to get good job opportunities. Hence for them the need is job and not development of the city as a whole. They indirectly contribute to its upliftment but the basic moto is employment. Whereas people who have seen the transformation of this city may have different view altogether for their society. Thus cities alone cannot be taken into account for determining the common needs which is an important characteristic of a society.

One more characteristic that holds importance is the culture. Different countries have different culture and traditions. Societies will have a common culture. In India different states have different festivals celebrated in their own style. Garba is a traditional dance form of people of Gujarat. But people of Mumbai also play garba as good as their Gujarati counterparts. So is State of Maharashtra is considered a society of which Mumbai city is a part then just by analyzing people of Mumbai dancing to the tune of Garba cannot be attributed as cultural characteristic of society. Therefore as cities practice different culture the wholistic common culture of the society would not be determined.

Some may argue that there is harmony between people in cities even though being from different regions which is also a ideal for society. Yes definitely this is a valid point, cities should have harmony for the betterment of themselves. This will not only help them individually bit also help the society. But this does not solve the question of understanding the characteristics of society just on the basis of cities. Cities in collaboration with other regions can give a broad and accurate idea of the society as a whole