The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument states that the accidents involving mopeds, a popular mode of transport on Balmer Island, and pedestrians have increased. This can be mitigated by reducing the number of rental mopeds. This argument overlooks come implications and also considers certain assumptions that undermines this argument. The reasons that undermine the statement is due to following reasons.

The first assumption that the argument makes is that by decreasing the numbers of moped rentals from 50 to 25 during summer season will reduce the accidents. This assumption does not guarantee that the accidents involving people and mopeds will definitely decrease. It may happen that those 25 rental mopeds may cause more accidents than the previous 50 ones.

Secondly the argument mentions the people flocking the islands only in the month of summer. There is no reference to the people visiting the Balmer islands in seaons other than summer. Before implementing any policies these factors should also be considered.

The argument takes reference for the Town councils decision to reduce number of mopeds to the town of Seaville. Where the town council of Seaville had decided to reduce the mopeds number to reduce accidents. In seaville this decision gave positive results by reducing the accidents to nearly half the accidents of occurred annually. But it should also me taken in notice that what worked for Seaville may or may not produce the same outcome in Balmer. Balmer and Seaville are both different based on number of people visiting these islands, geographical locations of the two towns, etc.

Therefore as stated above due to flawed assumptions and unreasonable considerations the argument does not hold strong enough