The following memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would strengthen or weaken the argument.

The argument here refers about a memorandum from a television station which writes that to increase the number of viewers and also curtail the loss of advertising revenue the time alloted to eather and local news should be restored to its initial level. The above statement made considers a few assumptions and certain considerations which are described as follows.

The argument refers to a direct connection between complaints made by the viewers and the viewership of the program. The business manager states that as more complaints have been received by them for their station's showcasing of weather and local news program for a longer time, the number of viewers have decreased. The above statement is completely flawed as it may have happened that the complaints registered may be of the quality of the transmission or may be people have objection about certain advertisement shown during the program. Thus as the argument does not consider the above assumption, the conclusion made with respect to decrease in viewwership is weakened.

Another view is that advertising agencies that were showcasing their content have cancelled their contract and this is because the station increased the late night news program to national news. This view is also not convincing as it is possible that advertising agencies did not have money the run the advertisements. Also it is also possible that advertising agencies did not have any content to broadcast. The above assumptions need to be considered while amking conclusion about restoring the time of the program.

Thus as stated above, peoples complaint about the weather news may not be related to their consent to increase the viewing time. Also linking advertising agencies' cancellation of contract to restore the late night programs to its original levels may not be valid. Hence the above assumptions weaken the stated argument