The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company suggesting the total demand for electricity in their area will not increase—and may decline slightly is full of flaws and based on very weak assumptions and they have made that on the basis of new efficient technological growth and increasing awareness of people regarding conservation of energy .

Firstly company is assuming that home owners are more aware than past based on a several recent study but which study? Who took that surveys? were those surveys reliable or authorized?, how much people they studied? Etc. so many unclear answers and we can't certainly say anything without knowing the validity of those surveys. If it is proven still home owners are not the only one who are consuming energy, other family members are also consuming energy and mostly home owners are one who are going for the job and not being in home in most of the day time so we can’t say that as they are aware the energy consumption will decrease.

secondly company assumes that new appliances are twice efficient true but before a decade there were no air conditioners and today myriad numbers of new electrical appliances are there in a market, for example now we are having an electrical scooter and electrical burner, hair dryer, smart phones, washing machine etc. All these appliances are increasing our electrical consumption by being the important part of our day to day life. Due to air conditioner and washing machine we are supposed to use a three phase connection and it consumes greater energy than any one phase appliance.

Thirdly there is not specified that which season is running or which one is going to come so for example if winter is running and summer is going to come naturally the consumption of air conditioner and other cooling appliances like water cooler and fan will suddenly rise and more energy demand will be there so one can't say without knowing the current season that what will happen next.

Fourthly though the better home insulation and passive solar heating is available due to increasing population more number of people are coming to live in cities. In which regions these surveys were taken? Nothing specified so it may happen that due to increasing number of people and high rise building overall consumption will increase and though from past twenty years the three plants were enough but it may happen that the new plant will be necessary in a short time.

In general in the memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company who states that there will no need of extra source of power is based on abysmal assumptions and without knowing certain answers one can't agree with this argument.