The following appeared in a memorandum from the vice-president of Gigantis, a development company that builds and leases retail store facilities.

“Nationwide over the past five years, sales have increased significantly at outlet stores that deal exclusively in reduced-price merchandise. Therefore, we should publicize the new mall that we are building at Pleasantville as a central location for outlet shopping and rent store space only to outlet companies. By taking advantage of the success of outlet stores, this plan should help ensure full occupancy of the mall and enable us to recover quickly the costs of building the mall.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The memorandum from the company's vice president stating nationwide over the past five years, sales have increased significantly at outlet stores that deal exclusively in reduced-price merchandise could be agreed upon to a certain extent. This argument leads to an assumption by the company that publicizing the new mall at Pleasantville as a central location for outlet shopping and rent store would help them recover the costs of building the mall. The reduction in cost prices at the outlet stores would certainly attract a fair amount of customers, but also depends on the company's reputation in the market and competition of outlet stores.

The company states that over the past five years, sales have increased nationwide at outlet stores dealing exclusively with reduced-price merchandise. If the data is to be considered true, then publicizing the new mall would increase the company's hold on the market significantly. However, the survey's context seems plausible but to a certain extent, as there could be a possibility that only the areas with high population density might have been considered. this could certainly result in an increased number of sales. The data also fails to provide the details of the merchandise or products which were considered, meaning the already in-demand product's sales could have been increased, not the general increase which is being asserted.

The assumption stating that publicizing the new mall would ensure full occupancy and enable to recover quickly the costs of building the mall is true only if the data provided can be relied upon for drawing the above mentioned conclusion. Certainly building a mall at the central location would attract the majority of customers but, an increased number of reduced-price merchandise would not necessarily ensure increased number sales at the newly constructed mall.

In conclusion, the data fails to clearly substantiate the assumption of the company's increased number of sales with plausible context and statistics. An increased number of customers at retail shops may not necessarily assert that there would be a high occupancy rate at the mall. The construction of a new mall could help the company generate profits.