The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council:

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council, it is stated that due to residents’ strong commitment to recycling, the available space in their landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted. The author has come to this conclusion based on the increment of recycled material as well as the duplication in the charges for pickup of other household garbage. Moreover, he is also supporting this conclusion with a survey in which 90 percent of the respondents would do more recycling in the future. However, it is necessary three specific evidences to evaluate the argument’s validity properly.

To begin, the first needed evidence is the real amount of recycled material. The author is assuming that there is a great amount of recycled material now because this it has duplicated in the last two years. However, a duplicated quantity does not mean a high quantity. For instance, to pass from one kilogram of recycled material to two kilograms is certainly a duplication but it is not a considerable amount. In addition, even if this amount is actually high, for example one ton, the author is not saying how much mass of recycled material is necessary to increase the durability of the landfill in a considerable way. If this amount proved to be insufficient, the author’s argument would be weakened.

Secondly, the next evidence needed is to know if people would accept paying more money for the pickup of other household garbage or if they would change their habit in order to recycle more for a lower cost. For instance, if the people of West Egg Town were rich and they could spend more money for their garbage recollection, the effect of a higher charge would not yield to an increase in the amount of recycled material. Furthermore, if they do not have time to separate the garbage and do recycling, the landfill would be full in few years. This doubt could be resolve with a research study asking the people if they are open to pay more or not. If this study showed that they were able to pay higher charges, then again, the argument would be weakened.

Thirdly, the last evidence needed is more information about the survey because the author could be falling in the fallacy of the sampling error. Although that 90 percent seems to be a great number in favour to recycling, what if the sample size was not enough representative of the entire population. For instance, if the asked people were just a few, perhaps only 30 or 40 people, the result of the survey could not be enough representative of the entire town. Moreover, this sample could be skewed. For example, if the survey only has asked to those people who were in favour of recycling, the result would be clearly skewed. For these reasons, more evidence or information about the survey is needed. If these suppositions were not true, then the author’s argument would be strengthened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author is able to provide these three evidences, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the conclusion that the available space in the landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted.