The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council. "Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the pa

In this memo, the chariperson analyzed the previous two years' recycling gabage affair in this town.Due to more residents like recycling in the future, the author predicts that the availavle space in this town's landfill should last for conseiderably longer that predited before. While this conclusion is not well supported by the evidence and reasoning. There are some loopholes in this memo, Let's reexamin them carefully.

To begin with, the author does not show us the annual garbage disposal of this town. Because the fact told by him that the residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in the last two years than before shows no obvious evdence that the landfill of garbage disposal will last for a longer time. That is to say, if the garbages after recycled are not transfred into gas or fluid ,which could vaporate into the sky or drain into water, there must be a proper place for the final trash. Thus another important point which the author does not tell us is the content of these recycling gabage, they may need a final palce to be stored.

Secondly, the author predicts the amount of recycled material including paper,plastic, and metal should further increase in the next month, because the charge for these garbage will double. I belive all these garbage should be taken to a place in the end no matter what's the final patter they are. Thus this evidence is insufficient to the conclusion that the landfill will last for a longer time.I suggests tha author should make a wide survey to figur out how do the residents recycle their garbage.

In additon, given that 90 percent of residents wont to recycle more in the future, but this evidence shows no compelling support to the concluion made by the atuhor. Althougg the redisents are willing to reclyle more, while the author should find out why they want to do this more than before. A siginificant point lightens us that the charge for pick up of other household garbage will double, while like I said, unless these recycled garbage vaporized or flew into water, they all should be stored underground. So it is essential of finding out the current garbage disposal in the town's landfill, classifying these garbage is important to the author to make clear the situation now likewise.

Finally, the author predict the space of landfill will last for a conseiderably longer time.But the space of the landfill is not determined merely by the volume of garbage disposal. Duo to the development of the town, there maybe more people live in the town which means more gaebage at the same time, thus the comprehensive survey fot this predication is necessary.

In conclusion, the chairperson's predication is not well supported by the evidence, because the recylcing specficis are not told to us, give the dynamic population, he should make a wide survey.