The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a

chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents

are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store

in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of

running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly

closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight

training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of

customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program,

which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

The argument that, opening a new store of Nature’s Way (NW) in Plainsvile would be profitable , is not entirely convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions and the researches are incomplete as well.

Firstly, the argument relies on the assumption that sales of exercise shoes and clothing are high, due to the high purchase from the people of Plainsvile only. The vice president fails to assume that the sales might have been surged up due to tourists visiting that area or the merchants might have been selling their products in cheaper cost than ever. Might be the merchants have launched some limited time-period offers to the people in Plainsvile, so that the sales of the products surged for that particular period of time. NW should conduct a research on why the sales have risen before getting in conclusion.

Secondly, the vice president’s conclusion is based on the fact that there are more people visiting the local health club for their fitness than ever. This doesn’t’ imply that the new store is going to be in profit. The research should be conducted on, whether the people who go for fitness classes are often visiting the healthy product stores or they are just going for fitness classes? It is possible that the people in Plainsvile only go fitness classes and they find those workouts sufficient to keep them healthy and avoid spending much in healthy food products.

Also, the vice president anticipates that the school children who are required to involve in fitness program will continue involving when they will be adult. There is possibility that the students are being involved in those classes, only because school made it compulsory. They might leave the classes as they leave the school and don’t care about healthy lifestyle.

Thus the vice president of Nature’s Way should conduct a extensive research on different aspects mentioned above before concluding about the profits that can be anticipated from the new store in Plainsvile.