The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that The Mozart School should be the first choice for parents enrolling their child in music lessons. The argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand why Mozart School should be the first choice for parents enrolling their child in music lessons. But, the argument is rife with holes and assumption, and thus, not strong enough to provide sufficient support to author's claim. I think there may be some hidden factors which may make author's claim to be invalid. Hence, the argument is incomplete.

First of all, the author assumes that Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age level. In addition, author states that there is no audition to attend the school. This is merely an assumption without solid ground as it does not demonstrate any correlation between author's assumption and author's conclusion. what is a correlation between author's assumption and author's conclusion? if the argument had provided evidence to support author's assumption, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Further, the argument here assume that the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments and as well as wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. This is again a weak and unsupported argument. Since, it may possible that Mozart School is only famous for a particular dance style and majority of parents are interested to enroll their child only in one particular genres and styles that is not available in Mozart School. If the argument had provided evidence that school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments and as well as wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock is one of the vital reason for why Mozart School should be the first choice for parents enrolling their child in music lessons then it may make author's claim cogent.

Lastly, the author also assumes that the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Furthermore, the author also assumes that many Mozart graduates have gone on to becomes well known and highly paid professional musicians. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for the author's conclusion. For e.g., it may possible that the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area in only for particular period of time. In addition what is a correlation between Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians and author's conclusion. Mozart school welcomes youngsters at all ability and age level and author's conclusion? What types of styles and genres school offers? Without convincing answers to these questions the reader is left with the impression that the claim made by author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

Thus, By considering the discussion above the reasons mentioned by author in argument are not strong enough to support his suggestion. Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands.