The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author of a newsletter claims that many people have the desire to eat low-fat food and many of the foods marketed by Old Dairy Industries contain high fat. Thus he points out that the revenue of the firm will diminish considerably and recommends the investors to sell their shares of the company or stop purchasing its stock. However, the newsletter seems to be plausible at first glance, it reveals some logical flaws on a close scrutiny.

To begin with, the author quotes the data from a recent survey that indicates over 80 percent of the respondents tend to cut down their consumption of foods containing fats and cholesterol. As the author doesn’t provide detailed information about the survey, such as whether the respondents are selected deliberately, it is entirely possible that the people who participate in such a survey are overweighted and they will definitely choose to intake healthier food with low fat. Therefore, unless the author provides concrete evidence to indicate that the survey is scientifically organised, I will not be convinced by the statement of the newsletter.

Secondly, even if the survey is properly conducted, a desire of people can not guarantee the less consumption of high-fat food. It is well known that many people especially overweighted ones have difficulties in resisting the temptation of high-fat food, as unhealthy food usually tastes delicious than low-fat food. Thus, there must be a gap between the desire and the real condition. If the author can provide detailed information about the current sales of high-fat food in stores, the conclusion they make will be more persuasive.

Finally, the author presents that Old Dairy Industries have many high-fat food in the market. Such an evidence is too abstract to reach at the conclusion that the company’s revenue will decrease dramatically due to the shift of people’s eating habit. Without specific proportion of high-fat food within the products in the firm, it is imprudent to draw such a conclusion. Maybe the company have thousands and millions kinds of products, and high-fat food only stands for a small proportion of them. Hence, to bolster the author’s claim, detailed investigation should be done about the products information of the company.

In sum, the whole newsletter lacks detailed statistical data, including the current sales status of high-fat food in stores and the percentage of high-fat food among all products of the company, to support the author’s claim. Only by adding these data the conclusion of persuading people to sell shares or stop buying stock of the firm will be more reliable.