The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt urges that - a business, aspiring success, should hire the people who need only 6 hours of sleep per night. The logical flaws of this argument are implicit in the assumptions of the excerpt from the business magazine -

1. The success deciding factors of the compared businesses are of same except the sleeping hours of the executives.

2. The people, needing less sleep hours will work more effectively, resulting faster growth of their business.

3. Disregarding the calibar of the individuals - each and every one will work in same or alternate way.

Before coming to any conclusions these assumptions are to be cleared of.

To begin with - it is believed by the auhtor of the magazine that people who need less sleep will work more efficiently comopared to that of the other ones needing more sleeping hours. What the author is pressuming is that the employees; needing less sleeping hours will work more because they need less sleep or they work work over time compared to the other ones, needing greater than 6 hours of sleeping. But what is the guarantee that the people will work overtime or work more even if they have less time to sleep? They can enjoy their reduced sleeping time with their family or they can work on their ownselves, not necessarily for the business they are working. So it will be a clear logical flaw if we assume that less sleeping hours will make an executive more productive - resulting prosper of the business; at least from this point of view.

Then it comes to disregarding the calibar of individual executives, that is to say - the author assumes that only less hours of sleep will make the executives more productive and conducive to higher profits for the business. Bu the author is missing a point here. That is - every executives are not necessarily be of same kind. There are might be some of the executives whose working ability increases if they are provided with necessary sleeping hours. There might be some who need adequate mental refreshment or comparbly more resting periods than other to upshot better output; even more than those of less sleepers. If the business judge the potential executives based on the average of sleeping hours needed for an executives then it might risk its proper recruitment and might not help itself with more efficient executives that the business actually needed.

Apart from that - it is said that the study has been conducted only upon a group of 300 people consisting of female and male. Is it sufficient enough as an evidence to come to such an conclusion? What if the research has been conducted only on similar types of business that require less hours of sleep and is opting out the other types of business farms that might require adequate sleeping hours of their executives. For instance - the sleeping hours of a nightguard posting farm or customer care service will not be same as that of a driving support agency. Obviously the customer care executives will have people having sleep hours compared to that of the driving agency. Does that mean the driving agency will have less profit compared to the customer care service? Of course not. The profits will depend on the customer management, working proficiency and viability of the respective companies. So, it might not be a great idea to generalize the statement that "a business" will require to hire people needing less than 6 hours of sleep.

So, looking at all the arguments and critical remarks from aforementioned views and factors, deciding the profits of the business, taking into count - it is on the safer side to say that much evidence and clarification are required before coming to any conclusion regarding the strategy of a business of hiring executives.