The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

An article in business magazine says that, only those people should be hire who sleep 6 hour or less than that according to study of advertising firm because they believe that profit margin of such people is more. This conclusion is drawn out from studying 300 male and female according to their average number of hours they sleep per night and success of their firm. However, before this recommendation can properly evaluate some question must be answer.

To began with, article is saying that person who sleep less than or at the most 6 hours have success in their firms is it so? If we consider this as true than what about all those successful firms whose employee take good amount of sleep and still they are on top. Sleep depends on person to person but at a average 7 to 8 hours of sleep is more than sufficient to work productively. For instance, if any firm is forcing their employee to sleep only for 6 hour for productive work than result may come out opposite of what was expected. Employee may get tired and feel depressed which will result in low efficiency at work. His/her progress graph may decent down because of this. If either of this scenario is true than firm will never become successful.

Secondly, what if study rating which was made on 300 men and female was less? What if we consider more men and women across the globe? than result of study may be differ. For example, if we do survey on large scale than this result may differ. Productivity of any employee will hit its peck only when his/her mind is stable and mind can only be stable when he/she have taken enough sleep. Less amount of sleep may lead to stress and anxiety and no one can work under such mental pressure. If person try to work in such condition than he/she may go in state of depression which is not at all good for health.

In conclusion, firm should hire only those who sleep for 6 hour or less if they want to progress seems to be travesty. Lack of evidence and loop holes makes this article useless. if more evidence is provided and all above question is answered than that article can taken under consideration.