The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

The author talked about the article which said that "A recent study rating 300 male and female mention advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.". I am not agree with the argument because it focused only on few aspects. I am discussing other aspects of study furthermore.

Firstly, In the study author focused only on the sleep of the executives and not mentioned other demographics of the peoples like age, daily routine, working time, stress level, tolerance level..etc. In the study they take executives who sleep less than 6 hours, may be the population selected for study are old aged because old aged people take less sleep. Additionally, it is also not mentioned that how much hours they work in a day. If someone work less than he or she may take less than 6 hours sleep otherwise it's difficult to say that a person can work hard and take less sleep.

Furthermore, In the study it is not mentioned that whether it is longitudinal study or cross-sectional study. If it is not a longitudinal study than the effect of less than hour sleep can't be measure. It is a strong possibility that the person perform high in initial days with less than 6 hours sleep and after that the other effects occur on surface and inhibit the performance.

Additionally, The success of the firm doesn't depend only on the executives sleeping hours. There are others factors also responsible like, economy of firm, market share, working culture, demand of product in market, strategies of working..etc. The firm became successful due to strategies of work doesn't means that it is due to the executives less than 6 hours of sleep. There are so many vicissitude factors occurs with time so to fight with them firm should have strong strategies not less than 6 hours of sleeps of executives.

In conclusion, though the author be correct in his argument to hire only executives sleep with less than 6 hours. But on the basis of aforementioned arguments we are forced to assume that author's argument is fail to deliver because of lack of evidence.