The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The crux of the argument is that advertisement firms should hire executives who slept not more than six hours because the author claimed according to a recent study there is an association between the amount of sleep and the success of the firms. The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author claimed the conclusion on the basis of a survey on only 300 people. The author does not provide how many firms were involved in that survey. It might be possible that the study had been conducted on two company, and one company already was in loss not because of the executives and their amount of sleep, but because of the unpopularity of their product. Other company already making a profit because of their quality of the products. The author also believed that some employees within 300 people represent the whole community which is not pragmatic.

On the other hand, the author never divulges the number of executives who were unsuccessful because of their sleep patterns. WIthout the percentages and actual numbers of successful and unsuccessful employees, it is impossible to conclude that the firm's prosperity depends on the amount of sleep of marketing executives. The author ignorance about the other factors that played a vital role in the success of a company.

Another claimed the author presented was that advertisement firms hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. It might have an adverse effect on the company and people could not complete their sleep in order to keep their jobs and that situation might harm the company. Another complication will be people got the jobs not on the basis of their qualification but on their sleep patterns. Also, the author does not provide the data or difference of margins of profits between companies those who hire people, who sleep less than 6 hours and those who do not.

The following argument based on unwarranted reasons and flawed. The author failed to offer any convincing data that proves the sleep patterns of executives and the profits a firm made was related to each other.