The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on unwarranted assumption that the two new factories have opened in Dillton and two factories employ more than 1,000 people, rendering its main conclusion that the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged, invalid. Indeed, there are several unstated assumptions which if do not hold true, argument totally falls apart.

The argument fails to provide any justification that though the two new factories have employed more than 1,000 people, but the population has remained constant. Because of the grant provide by the city that is lowering of tax by 15 % and offering generous relocation grants to the factories. Population from the nearby places might have shifted to Dillton. So, the rate might have remained constant. Because of the increased population from the nearby places. Or the citizens who had gone to foreign land in search of job, came back to their own city, being attracted by the lower taxes and new job opportunities.

The argument had been strong had it provided information regarding the population before the two factories where opened and now. Also, that there no changes.

The argument leaves many other unanswered questions. Though the factories are employing 1,000 workers, they might be part-time workers. The work in factories are not huge and very little work is required to be done. So, the population is employed for part-time only. So, many people are employed but for less time of work. When calculated for some survey or facts this calculation would resembles that people are unemployed. Example normal time for a regular work is 8 hours and in the Dillton Factories each person is working 2 hours only. So, the when calculated there will be discrepancies in the data.

Finally, argument fails to consider the category of the unemployment. It's taking into consideration the rate but nothing is mentioned about the category. Maybe the survey earlier considered the number of the engineers, doctors and might have left the teachers. The survey now might only be considering the teachers. And by chance the rate might have remained same, though large portion of the engineers and doctors are hired by the factories but missed by the survey. The argument had been strong had it proved reliable. One needs to check the authencity of the before and after survey.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions it fails to provide any convincing case that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton resident. The argument had been strong had it provided information regarding the working hours of the employ and that the population has not changed for the time.