The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on unwarranted assumption that opening a cafe inside Monarch Books will attract more customers, rendering its main conclusion that monarch bookstore will attract more customers and better compete with regal books, which recently opened its own cafe, invalid. Indeed there are several unstated assumptions which if they do not hold true argument will totally fall apart.

The argument fails to provide any justification that Monarch Books will follow the success of Regal Books. For one Regal Books might be having large space. So, they do not have to compromise on the space, as the case with monarch Books. Also, in order to compare these stores we need to know how much profit is regal books earning because of cafe. It’s recently opened. Maybe it’s not even in the list of profitable stores. The argument needs to study its trend to find the actual data, in order to compare the stores.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that opening a cafe inside the monarch books will attract more customers. Maybe because of the cafe inside there will be disturbance in bookstore, which can lead to decrease in the number of books customers. Also, it could be that cafe allows drinking, smoking. If this will be the case younger children will not be visiting such place with their parents. Also, parents will avoid letting their child visit such book store. The argument had been strong had it provided information regarding how much will it affect the store.

Additionally, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that cafe will be opened in the space, that will be created by discontinuing the children section, as the national census indicate a significant decline in population under age ten. Here, the author is comparing the population of the whole nation with the monarch books. Maybe the population in the monarch books locality for this age group is more. Also, it could be that the maximum customers that come to this book belong to this age group. The argument had been strong had it provided information regarding the actual customers coming which are in the ten age group. If that number is large, this will lead to loss for the store.

Finally, there could be people who will pick up book form the store and will start to read it in cafe. Keeping check on these incidents will be difficult. As, it could be natural for the person in the cafe to know about some book, this will provide him opportunity.

Because, the argument is based on several unstated assumptions. It fails to provide the convincing case that opening cafe inside monarch books will attract customers and will compete with the regal books. The author needs to provide information regarding the number of ten age group customers, location of the two stores. Also, replacing children book section will affect, how much to the store.