The following appeared as part of an editorial in a weekly newsmagazine:

“Historically, most of this country’s engineers have come from our universities; recently,

however, our university-age population has begun to shrink, and decreasing enrollments

in our high schools clearly show that this drop in numbers will continue throughout the

remainder of the decade. Consequently, our nation will soon be facing a shortage of

trained engineers. If we are to remain economically competitive in the world marketplace,

then we must increase funding for education—and quickly.”

The paragraph in the news magazine predicted that there will be shortage in trained engineers in the country for several years, which would lead to drop in economic competitiveness. Following this reasoning is the conclusion that we must increase funding for education right away. As it may appear plausible, the author had several flaws and gaps in the reasoning, without which the argument would stand weak.

First, based on historical tradition that engineers come from universities and the observation that high school enrollment and the population at the age to go to college is lowere than before, the author predicted shortage of engineers will occurr. However, the author did not take into account that in modern time, there are vocational schools specialized in training engineers. Although the high school enrollment is reduced, there might be more student enrolled in these vocational schools for engineers.

Furthermore, the author anticipated the decline in trained engineers because overall college population is shrinking, which overlooked the important denominator. For example, it is possible that the number of trained engineers will remain stable as more college student choose to study engineering as it provides a lucrative career. As shortage is considered in relation to need, it would also be possible that the need of engineers would decrease as the population shrink. So even though the absolute number is lower as compared with before, the proportion of engineers in the population would stay similar level.

Finally, the author concluded that to ensure global economic competitiveness, the country should provide more funding to education and quickly. However, the author failed to fill in the gap as to how engineers are important to economics and why education would solve this problem. Some may argue that policies in economy and global trading might have more direct effect on economy than education.

To wrap up, the author had several flaws in reaching the prediction that there will be shortage in trained engineers and the author did not provide explanations in concluding that funding education could help the nation remain competitive globally.