Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

The station manager of KICK offers the recommendation that they include more call in advice programs to gain more audience based on two pieces of evidence. One is that radio station WCQP was successful after employing such change in broadcasting and the other is a survey showing the interest of listeners in this kind of programs. However, several questions need to be answered before carrying out the proposed solution.

First, we don’t know if KICK radio station is comparable to WCQP with regard to audience characteristics. The two radio stations serve different region and we don’t know if their audience is of the same age and socioecomic status, which may be associated with their taste and preference for radio programs. If the main audience of one station is old people who are retired while that of the other is mainly young people who are working, we would expect different results of implementing the suggestion.

In addition, we do not know if the two stations have similar radio programs or totally different programs. If one has no or minimal call in advice programs then adding the program would likely to increase the audience. If one has already many such programs, it is likely the field is saturated and not likely to further contribute to gaining listeners. Thus, we need to know if KICK had the same lack of investment in call in advice programs as WCQP.

Thirdly, we do not know if the increased listeners is actually a results of increasing the number of call-in advice programs. No evidence is provided other than the observation that the two events were concomitant. What are the other changes that might contribute to the recent success in WCQP? Did they change anchors or invite celebrity to their programs? What topics were the call in advice programs focused? Without answering these questions, and merely boost the number of such programs may result in ineffectiveness.

Finally, we don’t know if the results from the nationwide survey is applicable to the local area KICK station serves. If the survey respondents are completely different in age, sex, occupation, etc, then it is likely that the results cannot represent the taste and preference of medway area. Although there might be nationwide interest and a trend to listen to call in advice programs, we could not know if the same is happening in medway without the data from the radio programs. We need to know if the medway listeners are anticipating or ready for this change. It is entirely possible the audience are conservative and would prefer the traditional programs.

In conclusion, although the KICK station manager suggests a way to attract more listeners based on some evidence, we still need to figure out the questions as discussed above in order to evaluate the effectiveness of this suggestion.