Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The argument claims that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. This policy seems to be plausible, based on the assumptions that the students know clearly their field of interest and that taking courses they may not be interested in is meaningless. However, I would not agree with this policy as these assumptions it based on are flawed and may not hold true in many cases.

First, one might argue that focusing on students' interest is conducive to their personal development. They could save the time in wandering in the sea of subjects and spend their precious time on their interested topics. However, in reality, during this period of life, many students don't really have any specific direction they would like to pursue. Most of them give everything a chance and try to find their pursuit. In addition, their zealots could alter frequently based on their encounters. Thus, making this a requirement may be not pragmatic for students as they may regret their choice of field and unfortunately wasted the credits. Or they switch the direction and take them longer to graduate. What could be worse is that it may limit their exposure to other fields, which might be more suited for them or which may inspire them.

Furthermore, related to the uncertainty of students' interest in that the policy limited the courses to a single field, which might not be optimal for development. As we all know, the goals of university education include a comprehensive education which prepares the students for the society. Thus, this requirement might impede the students from becoming well-rounded individuals. Focusing only on one field, which might be the consequence of the policy, one could easily neglect the necessity of studying other fields basic to society, such as politics, law, computer skills, writing, critical thinking. These skills are of equal importance to the field the student has passion for as these are fundamental skills to use in any line of work.

Finally, it is very common that student changes their field of study and career after graduation. If they only study the field they were passionate about at the time and neglected to explore other fields, they might find it difficult to switch to the new field or career they later become enticed by.

In conclusion, although this university policy has a good intention to reduce students' burden and let students pursue the field they are attracted by, it may also have negative impact as to limiting students exposure to other fields and deprive their opportunities to learn basic skills for their future work. This policy did not consider the dynamic change in students' interest and decisions. Most importantly, it may minimize students' chance to alter their careers.