Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Preserving nature is important to the human race as we are one entity with mother earth. However, the statement intend to conserve any wilderness and even at the expense of economic development, which is too extreme, in my view.

To begin with, nations' primary objective is economic growth, in order to flourish and to improve the well-being of citizens. Without the bread and butter, society may face instability and people may be trapped in poverty. Thus, it would depend on if the nation interested in this environmental policy has achieved economic stability and especially, the unemployment rate at the target areas should be taken in to consideration. As human beings, no one would want to live in wilderness and indeed, the development of wilderness uplifted the well-being of people living in rural areas and make the commodities and services available to them.

In addition, the nation should rank the significance of the wilderness to be preserved and balance it with societal needs. Not all wilderness are cardinal to conservation, many may just have little environmental meaning. Thus, if the policy applies to any wilderness, the development of the area might be severely impeded. Indeed, the residents may prefer government plan the development of that area, such as malls, supermarkets, restaurants, as the wilderness may have caused them troubles like the fear of bears, wolves, and hygienic problems. Although we seek to keep as many as nature in their original states, we still have to put the people's needs first and generate a well-rounded decision.

This policy may be suitable for over-exploited cities, as the remaining wilderness is so scarce. And most cities have a copious of job opportunities and such policy would not affect people's employment. It would conserve the valuable greenness in the highrises made of glasses and steels. However, for rural areas, it would have a counter effect and thus increase the chasm in resources between urban and rural places.

In sum, I do not strongly support nations to pass laws to preserving any wilderness, as this would restrict the potential of areas that might be better off as residential or commercial areas. In addition, the economic condition is also primary concern for such policies.