Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

The statement starts with observations of two concurrent trend. One is that the number of shoppers in Central Plaza kept decreasing and the other is that skateboarding became dramatically more popular there. However, the author hastily blamed the skateboard users for the deteoriorating business and concluded that prohibiting skateboarding will recover the business prosperity in Central Plaza. Several significant flaws exist in the author's reasoning and will be discussed below.

First, the author mistook two events happened at the same time for causal relationship. One alternative explanation could be the two observations here were purely coincidental. Even if there might be correlation between dropping business and increasing skateboarders, like the almost empty plaza attracted skateboarders to use it, we could not determine which is the cause and which is the consequence. The author's reasoning is speculative and had no supporting evidence except for overlap in time period of the two events.

Furthermore, the author had the same flaw in attributing the substantial increase in the amount of litter and vandalism to the skate boarders. This could also be coincidence and the author failed to provide any concrete evidence. Besides skateboarders, has there been any other changes in the activities at Central Plaza? The author did not provide comprehensive information to rule out other possible reasons for the surge in littering and vandalism. For example, the disappointing business performance could be due to the economic recession. With more people getting laid off, they wouldn't have enough money to spend on unnecessary goods. The increase in crimes could be also explained by more unemployed and even homeless people.

Finally, the author recommended the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza and argued that it would bring business back, which is unsubstantiated by any data or evidence. As I discussed above, for example, if the cause is the economic downturn in the big picture, then the propose solution would have no effect to turn the situation around. Without understanding the cause of the problem and resort to a policy based on a speculative cause would hurt both the skate boarding lovers and the business. It is extremely likely that without the skateboarding people, there might be fewer customers, who could be their family and friends

From the discussion above, the author failed to provide any supporting evidence for his claims and erroneously connected two concurrent events as causal relationship. Thus the policy being recommended is ungrounded.