The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The recent study as mentioned in passage is trying to explain the similarities between the humans and the rhesus monkeys mainly with respect to the effects of birth order on various situations. Few examples stated above suggest few similarities in case of observed situations. For example, both rhesus monkeys and humans shows similar changes in their hormonal levels of cortisol.

The examples stated though have few assumptions which might change in certain situations. First thing will be the monkeys on which the situations are tested. Though enough for primary testing, eighteen monkeys are not enough for complete analysis of any hypothesis. The experimenting organization should not only test it on more number of monkeys but those monkeys should also be from different places and also from different families. This small data set may not give exactly correct information.

Second and most important assumption is about the hormone cortisol. The passage should describe the complete information starting from its origin to effect about the hormone cortisol. Since it is not mentioned in the passage the cortisol may be triggered by many other parameters in those situation, for example in case of monkeys the presence of unfamiliar monkey or in case of humans the return of parents augments the levels of cortisol, but it can be happening due to curiosity or may be horror or may be excitement as long as this increase in cortisol level is non elucidated clearly we cannot completely depend on these observations.

The study also found that the birth order in humans are also have same effect on levels of stimulation but the passage fails to state the results of actual study on the human beings, on whom these situations are tested also what different parameters of humans are included in these results like age, gender, mental situations.

The final statement in this passage states the cortisol level in pregnancy which is not only related to birth order but also lacks examples or well documented, statistical data to prove it right. So the passage should provide more data regarding these situations.

Thus according to me to emphasis the current observations, one should include more number of test samples that is more monkeys, more human beings. They should consider all other parameters regarding these two test samples and try to make the atmosphere of two samples as same as possible. Also the observations should mention all peripheral parameters which might affect the situation level and try to make sure that these situations are tantamount to each other’s.