The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The study points out the importance of birth order on the stimulation levels of an individual and tries to generalize the same by citing the study of 18 rhesus monkeys with certain observatiosn. However, the mentioned results strongly poses the doubt on the study because of the lack of evidence. There can be some other factors that actually responsible for the stimulation level increase instead of the birth order. So there is a requirement of evidence which has to answer several questions and defend the study.

Firstly, the author of the letter cites the recent study of the rhesus monkeys to provide clues for the effect of birth order on the levels of stimulation. However, we have no idea about the credibility of the study. Does the study incoprorated the use of up-to-date scientific methods? Does the sample of 18 rhesus monkeys is a good representative for the actual population of rhesus monkeys since the studied monkeys maybe from a specific territory or age. Also will the 18 monkeys be enough to generalize the effect of birth order on the levels of stimulation? Maybe if some more monkeys are investigated the new results will be totally different. The above questions needs to answered so that we can have a reliable data and hence reliable results with sufficient evidence.

Secondly, the basis of the study is the biological response of monkeys to the stimulating conditions. However, evidence regarding the total number and types of stimulating situations have not been stated. Though the author have mentioned about a stimulating situation: confronting an unfamilier monkey, but this alone doesn’t guarantee that all stimulations primes up a body for increased activity. Maybe if some other stimulations are tested the results will be no change in the increased activity levels. Also, the hormone cortisol is linked with the increased activity levels and has been said to get produced to twice the level as of the younger monkeys, in infant monkeys during stimulations. But we need information on the critical amount of the hormone cortisol required to increase activity levels. Furthermore, how many infant monkeys were actually investigated and how many show the trend of increased active levels. These questions needs evidence which is missing from the letter and it arouses a doubt on the study that Is being conducted.

Third, an evidence to support the judgement that birthorder has effect on the levels of stimulation has been provided by comparing the nature of production of hormone cortisol in both newborn monkeys and human beings. However, does the production level in both living beings is same or different? Additionally, the stimulating situation for infant human being is different from the infant monkey’s stimualtion. So, does stimulation nature has no effect on the production of hormone cortisol? Are the monkeys and human beings biologically equivalent so that their results can be compared and generalized. As earlier stated is there any critical concentration of hormone cortisol required to increase activity levels and is the critcial level same for both infant human beings and monkeys? Futhermore, how many first time preganant monkeys were investigated and how many of them showed high levels of cortisols and by how much amount more than the monkeys already having several offsprings?

In the conclusion, we should acknowledge the author’s argument that birth order may play a crucial role on the levels of stimulation. For that certain observations of the study have been discussed in the letter. But there is a need of detailed information on the study conducted like its methodology, analysis and comparison of results with proper test subjects so that conducted study can be reliable source of information.