The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:"The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is esse

The environmental protection group contents that Smith Corporation should not be allowed to build a hotel on the land that is now a part of Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. Its so because the proposed development will harm them 300 bird species that lie in this area.This will further impact the their community as it will impact the tourism which is primarily relying on the magnificent bird population.

Although, the argument seems coherent at first glance. However, upon scrutiny, on can fathom that its based on flawed assumptions and premises.

The most glaring fallacy in the petition is that it has not explained about the location of the hotel which shall be built. The location of the hotel is important as it helps to determine the impact of the construction. Maybe the land being provided to the Corporation is in the beginning of the Sanctuary where the birds are not sighted often. Hence, just because the development is being done on a land which is part of Wildlife preserve doesn't implies that it will have disastrous consequences for the bird population.

In addition, the petition has not given solid evidence to prove that the construction will harm the bird population. Its just based on the belief of the environmental protection group. Without any concrete evidence,the reliability of the premises becomes questionable.

Although,its true that construction can impact the wildlife/bird population inhabiting that area. However, usually when such construction occurs its highly regulated by the government.They ensure that the construction is not being done within certain range of the endemic wildlife etc. Hence as no evidence has been given to us that such regulations have been set or not. We cannot judge that the construction will harm the population.

Thus, due to the unavailability of reliable evidence regarding how the development of land will harm the bird population one cannot assume that this construction will have disastrous consequences on that community. The author must have given evidence regarding government regulation for evidence being violated, the location of the hotel wrt to bird population so that one could correctly determine whether the contruction will have negative imoact or not