The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Learning is one of the most essential aspects of our aspect. We learn throughout our lives which further helps us to grow in our life. Now while we are learning it’s important for us to understand what mistakes we are doing. We are always not capable to understand ourselves the difference between right and wrong actions. So we need guidance in order to perceive this difference. The complexity of this issue cannot be ignored. Stating that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones is an oversimplification of the issue. One needs to warily examine all the aspects before coming to a conclusion.

When children are young they are not aware about right and wrong. They may make mistakes like eating things which have fallen on ground, being mean to kids who are disabled, stealing, not sharing, throwing tantrums and so on. If their guardian ignores these mistakes these young innocent kids will never understand that what they were doing is wrong and will harm them in long run. Hence, by pointing out their mistakes at right time, their guardians can help them to understand that their actions are undesirable.

Similarly, in organizations young professionals display different kinds of behaviour. Few professionals do not report to office on time and few people flout the rules of the organization by not wearing appropriate clothes. Thus, in this case if such mistakes are ignored they will never bother to improve their behaviour. By pointing their mistakes and making them understand that such behaviour is unacceptable one can ensure that such behaviour is not getting repeated.

One cannot deny the fact that praising positive actions helps in reinforcing the correct actions. For example, if our kids show empathy towards underprivileged people and try to do something good for them, by appreciating their behaviour we are making them understand that their actions are good. Also, sometimes we need to ignore negative actions in order to ensure that it does not impact them negatively. For example, parents ignore many mistakes of teenagers are they know that its not correct to always scrutinize their kids. However, one needs to understand that there is an extent upto which such negative actions can be ignored and after one point such actions needs to be pin pointed in order to correct behaviour.

Hence, one can conclude that one needs to praise positive actions and point out wrong actions in order to reinforce correct behaviour. One must try to understand the situation and after looking into all the parameters decide the intensity of action which needs to be taken to correct the wrong actions.