We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying f

The owner of Juniper Cafe contents that the best strategy for them to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs is by reducing the time of operation. Its so as it will reduce their expenditure on paying for utilities, emplyoee wages and other operating costs. The argument seems coherent at first glance;however, upon scrutiny, one understands that its based on flawed assumptions and premises.

The most glaring error is that the owner has assumed without any evidence that reducing the time of operation is the best strategy for them to save money and stay in business. He has failed to take into consideration opportunity costs of this decision. He should have considered other options as well like trying to increase his revenue by increasing his customer base, anlyazing various problems in his business which is affecting the revenue and then trying to eliminate them. Thus, by analyzing different options and taking into conideration opportunnity cost of every decision he should have come to an conclusion regarding what strategy will be best for his business. Thus, in the absence of such evidence, the argument become questionable.

In addition to this, he has not clearly mentioned what will the amount of savings from the reduction in usgae of utilities, reudction in emplyoee wages etc. He has jsut assumed that it will help him in reducing his expenditure.This shows that his argument is based on a faulty assumption Even if we assume that this is the best startegy and it will actually help in reducing costs one cannot ignore the fact that there are multiple other operating costs which eh ahs failed to bring into consideration For ex the biggest operating cost is the rent.Maybe he is facing such huge costs due to the high rent and by moving to a different location wolll help him inreudcing costs.

Evidently the argument is not well though of. He should have taken a decision by analyzing differnt options, taking into conisderation alll the operating costs and opportunity costs. Thus, he needs to reconstruct his argument by providing evidence for his assumptions. Only then the realibility of the aruguent will increase.