"An ailing patient should have easy access to his/her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition." - Write

The profession of the doctor is one of the most revered profession. Its so because without their expertise and skills it will be impossible for human beings to live a healthy long life. However, in today's environment when corruption has become so widespread, the profession of doctor's/ Health care professionals has also not been able to safeguard itself from it. Thus, the complexity of the situation cannot be overlooked. Stating that an ailing patient should have access to his or her doctor/s record of treating similarly afflicted patients.For it will help them determine the doctor's competency would be an oversimplification of such a complex situation. Hence, before coming to a conclusion one needs to delve into the details of this issue.

Firstly, by having access to doctor's history of treating similarly afflicted patient the patient will get knowledge about the expertise of the doctor. As a highly skilled doctor will show high probability of delivering favorable results.This will thus help the patient to determine the reliability of the treatment he/she will get. For example, if a patient is looking for a dermatologist for treating acne. Then, the best way for him/her to determine the right doctor would be by gathering information regarding the patients he/she has treated. And on the basis of this they can choose a reliable doctor.

Secondly, if such transparency exists, it will increase the confidence in the mind of patient regarding the doctor's competency.This will further ensure that the accountability of the outcome is on both the doctor and the patient. For example, a Patient who is suffering from high grade cancer chooses to undergo treatment in New York owing to its reputation of delivering best results to its patients ensures that whatever will be the outcome the responsibility will be shared equally by both the doctor and the patient.

Although there is a possibility that information patient's obtain is not 100% accurate or the records have been tempered. But this doesn't eliminates the possibility that the ease in access of such information makes the patient empowered and also ensures that doctor's are more responsible.As patient's will never choose a doctor who has not shown high probability of success in their treatments. This will thus help the patient to safeguard himself/herself from the imcompetent treatments

Thus, it will be right to say that by gaining easy access to doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients, the ailing patient would be better able to determine the doctor's competency to treat the medical condition.