'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The Business manager of television station contends that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. He believes that his loss in viewership and advertising revenue has happened as they have increased their late night new program time to national news. The argument seems coherent at first glance. However, upon scrutiny, one can fathom that its based on faulty assumptions and reasoning.

The most glaring error is that Business manager has not given any specific data regarding the type of complaints received from viewers regarding coverage of weather. The Business manager is assuming that these complaints are regarding the reduction in coverage time of the weather and local news. However, these complaints may be regarding the poor quality, many errors in the local and weather news. Thus this shows that the argument is quite vague and is based on flawed assumption.

In addition, the Business manager has not given any specific reason regarding the local businesses canceling their advertising contracts. There may be multiple reasons for the cancellation of these advertising contracts. For example, the advertising costs may be high in comparison to other channels, an economic slowdown may have occured due to which the advertising companies may have been canceling their contracts. Hence, in the absence of any specific reason, the argument becomes flawed.

Even if one ignores these flaws and considers these reasons to be valid, since the Business manager has not mentioned anything regarding how much time they had increased for national news or the response they have received for national news one cannot decide that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. This is so because may be the time being devoted to national news has just increased by 10 minutes which can hardly impact the viewership and advertising revenue.

Thus in the light of these fallacies and faulty reasoning the validity of this argument becomes questionable. In order to strengthen the argument the author should present specific information regarding types of complaints they received, how much time they had reduced for local and weather news and reasons for cancellation of the advertising costs.Otherwise the argument will remained flawed and questionable.