The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery:

The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department.

In the meeting of the director of a company discuss about the falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in the manufacturing parts for heavy machinery. These delays happen due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Hence, director in the meeting decide that the company should, move the purchasing manager to the sales department to the bring in a scientist from research division to be the manager of purchasing department. The conclusion of the argument relies on various assumption for which there are no clear evidence. Hence the argument is deeply unconvincing and deeply flawed.

First, the argument state that the falling revenues in the company is coinciding with the delays in manufacture and these delaying in the manufacturing the parts main purpose of falling revenues of the company. This is possible that because of revenue is decrease, there could be direction from higher management to slow down the production, which is author report unaware. There are many case that falling revenue of the company like competition becomes high in the market. There are many competitor company sales the product is cheaper than other company. Delay in manufacturing may be to make good quality material. We can find numerous example from above mentioned reason that has led to decrease the price of sales and occur major falling revenues of the company.

Second. The argument assumes that the delay is caused by the poor planning on purchasing the material. But there is not have any correlation between the delayed in the production and poor planning in purchasing metals. There are many other reason for delaying in product manufacturing. For example, it is possible that there is traffic in the production line that causing the delays. Or also in the case that product in not able enough to support the outward demand.

Finally, the argument suggests that the move the purchasing manager to the sales department and in those place bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department. This state to do most weakens the argument, the manager has an excellent background experienced in the general business, psychology and sociology, which are most important skills that any manager must have. Based on them past excellent experienced and quality of decision makes the company more profitable even between large competitor and numerous danger problem. Those manager has this much skill can have great knowledge about the properties of metals. There are some another reasons to falling revenues instead of lacking of manager skill. A scientist has a skill to research and analysis the study and situation, they may be not having a sufficient skill about properties of metal. They not having great experienced in the position of purchasing the product and properties of metals.

From all the specific argument, in summary the argument is flawed unconvincing. Author can’t define any strong evidence to strengthen the argument.