The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument proposed in the passage rests on several assumptions made by the author.Although the author mentions about an observational instance,we are not provided with any further data.Moreover, the passage is inundated with vague terminalogies that are open to interpretation and subject to fallacy.The validity of the argument cannot be justified unless we are provided with cogent cases bolstered with evidence.

Firstly, the passage has open up with general presumption that ancient records suggest that tufted groundhog once numbered in millions.Without giving evidence for the data, it rises many questions unanswered.For example, Who declared tufted groundhog exceeded for than million?What is the numerical data for the tufted groundhog?There isnt any data available to justify the above questions.Thus, the terms are largely subjective, which none but the author can only clearly specify. Without a lucid explanation of these terms, we are left in an ambivalent state and the argument itself is open for debate.

Secondly,the passage has presented with another notion that neighboring Eastern Carpenteria faced similar probelms and has repealed of its santuary status.The author is assuming that the West Lansburg will face the same problem.Without any evidence one cannot compare the two scenerios.The example stated for Eastern Carpenteria was in 1978.This could not draw any relevant evidence which was stated more than two decades.

Moreover the passage has satted to maintain the biodiversity building of road should be prohibited.Considering building of roads without cutting out trees and shifting the animals to safer place cannot harm the environment.There might be possibility that building of road can bring the West Lansburg santuary more revenue from the local tourists.This could be profitable for the West Lansburg sanctuary.Thus, without citing further information regarding the advantages of West Lansburg santuary that the author uses to validate the claim, the argument is subject to fallacy.

In conclusion,the author must give us clear evidence about the Eastern Carpenteria and West Lanmsburg.In addition,without giving lucid information one cannot reach the conclusion and can set this argument dubious.