The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this analytical piece argues that the policy that was implemented in the Garville city will definitely work in the Waymarsh. The argument fails to mention several key factors with the help of which it could be better evaluated. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support to the author's argument. Hence, the argument of the author is incomplete and unsubstantiate.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the contention that the typical driver took 20 minutes more to reach the desired destination than before. But, there might be several other reasons that are possible like, he might be stopping somewhere in order to have tea or for any other reason. It is also possible that due to some reason he might changed his path of driving from one place to another. It is not mentioned in the argument whether, he drives on the same path or has he took a different path. Also, it might be possible that the vehicle might have inculcated some problem and because of that is the delatory of the commuter.

Secondly, it is stated in the contention that it would be better to follow the policy of Garville for the results desired. This raises some questions like Does Garville occupies almost same number of the vehicles? Even if it does, then How the goegraphic conditions of Garville are different than Waymarsh? If it is different than does it affects the policy or not? These are some questions that must be answered by the author in order to properly evaluate the argument and to present with the credible solution.

Also, here it is assumed that the pollution levels in the Garville has been reduced due to the implementation of the policy. But, there is no support to the assertion in the argument. It might be possible that the reduction in the pollution has undergone due to some other reasons. Also, it might be possible that there is minor amount of the reduction in the pollution. Therefore, for the further assessment of the argument the author must mention about these questions and must answer some questions that are necessary for the content to be evaluated.

To sum it up, the argument of the author is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, author must present with clear and concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis about how the traffic reduction can be done in the city and also on the proper reasons of the traffic. Thus, for better assessment of the argument further more information must be provided by the author.