The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 per cent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

In this letter, the author concludes that work experience is a key element towards the success of a student. However, the author supports the argument with the three assumptions that, if not substainsted, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes without evidence, that the survey which has been done has any credibility or reliability? However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, there may be the possibility that the participants of the survey have an internship experience and those who did another internship or left out with this one were not aware of the fact that any surveys are going on. The student who has completed the internship has only shown interest in the internship because they were happy with their result. Also, rest students may find different companies as their interest to complete their work.They may have not participated in this survey because they weren't interested or aware of the fact that this has been going or there may be a possibility of requirements and his suggestion that there will be a good after attending internship. Hence, wasting time without utilising it in a useful manner would not lead to a good career.

Second of all, there is no evidence which has given for the statement every student would be getting a work for their interest. Is there any evidence behind this statement?There may be a possiblities the students who took internship from the place would have intrested in joining that company and that is the reason they found it interesting and suitable for them or those who has been invovled with different companies to explore their interest didn't join this company may be due to no interest of them towards this brand or inability to find the work related to their area of interest. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author's contention can be avoided if the person fails then the worst scenario can be possible.

Finally, would that internship offers flexible working hours. If that is the case there may be a possibility that more students will be interested in participating and find their interest. There may be some flaws which is hindering the new batch or old batch to follow it completely. May be they will be getting a better chance in the another company which has more flexibility than this. The author assumes that getting a good work experience surely leads to the job. If it is not true then the author assertion is invalid and the recommendation does little to convince.

In conclusion, it is good to get good internship and the interest does matter with that. No matter the name of a company, but experience is the things which all matters.

However, as it's stand flaw the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render it's conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, author needs to provide additional evidence regarding the benefits of the internship from the company which he has mentioned.