The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument by the parents of a private school student to the principal of that school is faulty due to the various reasons. Primarily, the students parent make assumption that since yesterday their son and some of his friends don't like the lunch options, so all the students of that school also don't like the lunch options at that school. Other reason for the faulty argument is that their parents assume that since some student don't like lunch options so they will bring less healthy food from home, since the management has been changed from the last year and no complain was their about the lunch option it might be case that lunch options be changed a week ago which is not much appreciated by students, but they do like the previous options.

Firstly, the argument is based on the wrong assumption that since their son and his friends don't like the food options of the school, so most of the students at the school don't like the school lunch options. Here no information is provided about the number of students that came up with the complain to hi parents house. There can be his 2 friends or 20 friends, but since complete stats are not provided we can not make any assumption from this. The other issue with this argument is that the complain from some students is being made generalized on the whole school students. Whereas, their can be a case where only some children don't like lunch plan but about 90% of the school students liked it and were in favor of that lunch options. It would be appropriate if the reason of why the lunch option was dislike be provided and number of students who bring up the complain was provided that would make the argument much strong.

Secondly, a wrong implication is being made in the argument provided by student parent that since some students don't like the lunch option, they will start bringing the unhealthy food from home creating the issue. This is a wring argument as no supporting point or previous supporting behavior of student is not provide. Student may not like lunch option but it not the case that they will start bringing unhealthy food instead of buying from cafeteria. It would be a strong argument if some previous student activities is being highlighted with this point where a same case occur and student does this in response.

Lastly, the student parent makes a wrong implication here, where they said that if Swift is not replaced by another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for the students. Here no supporting point is being provided if why it will happen. The only supporting point on this implication is based on another faulty assumption that student will bring unhealthy food to the school. Making this assumption a faulty one. Since this vendor servers low-calorie and low-fat food to students so it must be healthy for the students and it gives no threat to the students health. While previous assumption was made on faulty argument, this causes this implication to be wrong also because no supporting fact is being provided in the letter.

These were the primary reasons of why the author arguments were not right. Since the author make lots of assumptions and generalization based o the limited information provided and does not provide facts and figures on his arguments, makes the argument very weak. If enough information and facts are provided this argument would be much stronger.